Updated 2017 NEC Code Regulations by State

By superadmin on 06/02/2014

nec 2017 code adoption map

The National Electrical Code has made some changes that may affect any installations made after September, 1 2017. The NEC is a federal regulation program that sets electrical safety standards for all residential, commercial, and industrial buildings. As of July 1, 2017 ten states have adopted the 2017 NEC code regulations, and sixteen other states are in the process of adopting and implementing by October 1, 2017. 

*Please Note* The 2017 edition of the NEC was issued by the NFFPA Standards Council on August 4, 2016. The effective date was August 24, 2016, when it officially became available for adoption by federal, state, county, and municipal governmental entities. 

nec code progress map

HomElectrical has customers all over the United States, and each state has its own rules and regulations when it comes to electrical device installation and building code. While some of our customers are professionals in the electrical and construction industries, many are the Jack-of-all-trades and Do-It-Yourselfers. For that reason, we have created this reference guide to help you make the correct purchase of electrical devices to fit your needs, and to follow the regulations used in your area. 

orange checkFind your state below!

orange checkCheck to see what NEC code version your state follows now!

orange checkSee if your state has adopted the 2017 NEC Code!

orange checkCheck the date of implementation!

If you do not know what code your particular area in any State uses, please contact a licensed electrician. 

Alabama July 1. 2016 (Alabama Division of Construction management) Not in process    
Alaska 2014 Not in process    
Arizona Local adoption only      
Arkansas  2014 Adoption underway  TBA  
California 2014 Not in process    
Colorado 2017 Adopted June 1, 2017  
Connecticut 2014 Adoption underway  TBA  
Delaware 2014 Not in process    
Florida 2011     2014 Edition (12/31/2017)
Georgia 2014 Adoption underway January 1, 2018  
Hawaii 2014      
Idaho 2017 Adopted July, 1, 2017  
Illinois 2008 (commercial buildings) Not in process   Not in process
Indiana 2008 Not in process   Not in process
Iowa 2014 Adoption underway TBA  
Kansas 2008 Not in process   Not in process 
Kentucky 2008  Adoption underway TBA  
Louisiana 2011     2014 Edition (7/1/2017)
Maine 2014 Adoption underway TBA   
Maryland 2014 Not in process    
Massachusetts 2017 Adopted January 1, 2017  
Michigan 2014 Adoption underway TBA  
Minnesota 2017 Adopted July, 1, 2017  
Mississippi 2017 (local adoption only) Locally adopted  TBA  
Missouri 2017 (local adoption only) Locally adopted TBA   
Montana 2014 Not in process    
Nebraska 2017 Adopted August 1, 2017  
Nevada 2011 Not in process   Not in process
New Hampshire 2014 Adoption underway January 1, 2018  
New Jersey 2014 Not in process    
New Mexico 2014 Adoption underway TBA  
New York 2014 Not in process    
North Carolina 2014 Adoption underway April 1, 2018  
North Dakota 2017 Adopted  July 1, 2017  

2014 (Residential)

2017 (Commercial)

Adopted for commercial only

November 1, 2017  

2014 (Commercial) 

Not in Process    
Oregon 2014 Adoption underway October 1, 2017  
Pennsylvania 2008 Not in process    not in process
Rhode Island 2014 Not in process     
South Carolina 2014 Not in process    
South Dakota 2017 Adopted July 1, 2017  
Tennessee 2008     2011 Edition (TBA)
Texas 2017 Adopted September 1, 2017  
Utah 2014 Adoption underway TBA   
Vermont 2014 Adoption underway October 1, 2017  
Virginia 2011     2014 Edition (3/1/2018)
Washington 2017 Adopted July 1, 2017   
West Virginia 2014 Not in process    
Wisconsin 2011 Adoption underway TBA  
Wyoming 2017 Adopted July 1, 2017